Local boy Martin Laas triumphed in Tour of Estonia

Fifth today gives him first place overall

Contributed byTartu Marathon

Estonian Martin Laas won Tour of Estonia today when he finished fifth in the last stage Tartu GP. Mattia Gavazzi of Amore Vita won today in the group finish.

„I could say that everything worked out today 100%. Team worked fine and my teammates were fantastic,“ said Laas who thanked his young teammates from the Estonian National Team. Throughout the race there was some sort of brakeaway ahead of the main group and Estonian team was the main one who did the chasing.

„It actually suited us perfectly that there were a lot of breakaways. We didn’t have to worry about fighting for the sprint points because the men ahead were sort of random. More critcal was the second sprint finish when the peloton caught breakaways and we had to sprint for points,“ added Laas who managed to take second place sprint points from there.

In the end ofcourse I tried to win but the group was big and it was difficult. Tomorrow I plan to participate in the 34th Tartu Rattaralli. This is a race that every Estonian wants to win,“ said Laas.

Laas managed to hold his advantage from yesterday when he won the first stage of Tour of Estonia. Mattia Gavazzi won today. „The conditions were good for us today. I had a good position in the end and everything worked out. We will be in the start tomorrow with the whole team.

The first three riders of the general classification remained the same as in the first stage. The second place was taken by Tamouridis (Synergy Baku Cycling Project) and the third place by Gustav Höög (Swedish National Team).

The final event of the Estonian Cycling Weekend 2015 will be the 34rd Tartu Rattaralli held tomorrow with more than 4000 cycling fans on the track.

back to list

1Wang Qiang100
2Bao Lin80
3Poirrier Bastien60
FWC Next race approaching
left to...
WL Next race approaching
left to...

Laulupeo pst. 25
51007 Tartu, Estonia
Phone: +372 7421 644
Fax: +372 7422 536

All Rights Reserved © 2016 Worldloppet Ski Federation

Impressum | Powered by   Event Builder - Accreditation Management System