Kangaroo Hoppet

Australian victories at the Kangaroo Hoppet 2018

The 2018 Australian winter has been amazing and it was no exception for the 28th Kangaroo Hoppet at Falls Creek today. Over 1,000 skiers from 24 countries took part in what is the largest international ski event in the southern hemisphere & Australian leg of Worldloppet.

Steady snowfalls in recent weeks have seen the Falls Creek snow base exceed two metres, while recent sunny days and cold nights made for well packed ski tracks and great racing conditions across the stunning Bogong High Plains. So everything was set for a perfect raceday today.

Local winners at 2018’s Hoppet

The current Australian national team coach and husband of former Hoppet winner and three-time Winter Olympian Esther Bottomley, Valerio Leccardi won ahead of two-time Winter Olympians Phillip Bellingham from Mount Beauty and Callum Watson from Sydney. Joining Barbara Jezersek on the women’s podium were Aurelie Dabudyk from France and Cambria McDermott from the USA, both of whom who have been ski instructing and coaching at Falls Creek throughout the winter.

Jezersek, Dabudyk and McDermott broke away from the rest of the women’s field early on, then put her foot down up “The Paralyser” onto the Bogong High Plains and skied away solo. Dabudyk and McDermott also skied most of the rest of the race by themselves. Jezeršsk won her first Hoppet in 2017 after becoming an Australian citizen in late 2016. At the 2018 Pyeongchang Winter Olympics Jezeršek and team-mate Jessica Yeaton achieved Australia’s best cross country skiing result, 12th in the Team Sprint event.

In the men’s event a pack of six formed early on, before Watson picked up the pace and dropped all but Leccardi and Bellingham. However the effort took its toll, and Watson was the next to lose contact at the front. Leccardi made a decisive move away from Bellingham as they returned from Sun Valley the second time, and finished strongly for his first Hoppet victory since 2015.

In the 21km Australian Birkebeiner event the female and male winners were Darcie Morton and Nic Blackwell, while Zana Evans and Hugo Hinckfuss won the 7km Joey Hoppet.

Kangaroo Hoppet 42km


  1. Valerio Leccardi SUI
  2. Phil Bellingham AUS
  3. Callum Watson AUS


  1. Barbara Jezersek AUS
  2. Aurelie Dabudyk FRA
  3. Cambria McDermott USA


Australian Birkebeiner 21 km


  1. Nick Blackwell AUS
  2. Cooper Anderson USA
  3. Declan Burke AUS


  1. Darcie Morton AUS
  2. Tuva Bygrave AUS
  3. Brianna Oldis AUS

Joey Hoppet 7km


  1. Hugo Hinckfuss AUS
  2. Patrick Manning AUS
  3. Tommi Silvester AUS


  1. Zana Evans AUS
  2. Leila Pammer AUS
  3. Chloe Hinckfuss AUS
< Back